Gelatin Powder

Gelatin is used as a thickener for fruit gelatins and puddings, in candies, marshmallows, cakes, ice cream, and yogurts.

It is a product obtained by partial hydrolysis of collagen derived from animal skin, white connective tissue, and bones. Since then, there has been much concern about using gelatin derived from possibly infected animal parts, especially Halal quality for Muslim countries. The major source of gelatin is pigskin and is being used in processed food and medicinal products. Though the use of food products adulterated with porcine-derived gelatin create concerns in the mind of Muslim communities, as in Islam, it is not acceptable or literally, it is called Haram in Islam religion, therefore, Islamic communities use gelatin derived from cows’ skin which is Halal and acceptable.

Gelatine is a high-quality ingredient and has many positive properties as a foodstuff. Thanks to its gelling abilities, gelatine is indispensable in modern cuisine. For example, foam formation, stabilisation and texturising are essential properties in the creation of tasty desserts. Gelatine is also an important source of protein. It can effectively replace carbohydrates and fat in many foods and is thus better suited to meet nutritional needs.